Logo 
Search:

Sharepoint Forum

Ask Question   UnAnswered
Home » Forum » Sharepoint       RSS Feeds

Wrong user showing in version history

  Asked By: Katie    Date: Dec 07    Category: Sharepoint    Views: 2200

Has anyone ever come across or know why another user would be showing up under “Modified By” for a document in a document’s version history?

I have a version that shows User A made the modifications, while in reality she hasn’t touched or opened the files in nearly a month. User B made the changes and even added comments upon checkin. But User A shows up as the modifier. Any ideas? Another thing is User A was the last person to modify the file prior to this change/version.

Share: 

 

2 Answers Found

 
Answer #1    Answered By: Cassidy Sharpe     Answered On: Dec 07

cached passwords or credential swapping in the break room?

 
Answer #2    Answered By: Linda Mason     Answered On: Dec 07

I think I may know why this happened, to wrap up on this issue...

User B opened  the file, made  changes, had issues saving changes, undid
changes and undid the file  checkout. The time he did undo checkout was
the timestamp on the version. A version  was created since the file was
opened and edited, but since the changes were not saved, it assigned the
last user  to edit the file (User A) as the modifier.

Maybe a stretch, sorta makes sense. It is all I could come up with.

 
Didn't find what you were looking for? Find more on Wrong user showing in version history Or get search suggestion and latest updates.




Tagged: