Sharepoint Forum

Ask Question   UnAnswered
Home » Forum » Sharepoint       RSS Feeds

Workflow question

  Asked By: Keri    Date: Jun 29    Category: Sharepoint    Views: 571

I would appreciate some input on the following problem:

A user manually initiated a workflow on a list item that had already
been 'completed" by the same WF. (i.e. Chris started workflow on an
item that John had already started & completed the WF for).

1) Is it possible to "delete" a workflow that was started

2) If not, what is the "best practice" as it relates to handling
this? (i.e. short of deleting the item, reentering it and kicking
a new WF--is there any other option?

Also, is it possible to create a WF to approves/rejects multiple
items? I.e. individual pc req's are entered onto a list--we would
like to have a WF that presents all of the 4th quarter pc purchases
to the CIO for approval, rather than the 40 individual pc req's.
Any suggestions?



3 Answers Found

Answer #1    Answered By: Jude Alston     Answered On: Jun 29

I'm relatively new to SharePoint and have an instance of SPS 3 (not
MOSS) installed with an issue tracking list. The list  contains 'Planned
End Date' date field and a drop down field for 'In Progress' or
'Closed'. I would like to send a reminder email to the creator of the
issue on the day after the planned end date if the drop down field is
still 'In Progress'.

I have SP Designer and couldn't figure out how to do this. I sure would
appreciate help or a link on how to accomplish this if it's even

Answer #2    Answered By: Araceli Eaton     Answered On: Jun 29

Here's how to do the actions part of it:
In SPD workflow, first use the action "add time to date", and add 24
hours to your "planned end date". This will put the value in a

Then the second action is "Pause until date", and pick "workflow data"
and pick that variable you just created.

Obviously, the condition will just be "if the drop down field still = in

Answer #3    Answered By: Nisarg Kapadia     Answered On: Jun 29

First of all, check this site out. It will blow your mind:

Regarding your question  about "deleting" a workflow, that concept really
doesn't apply at the workflow  instance level like that. Now, if you
want to delete  the WHOLE workflow off of the list, you can go into List
Settings, Workflow settings, and remove it there. Then, you can
re-publish it to the list  again by simply opening it in Designer again
and clicking <finish>

So, again, regarding the question of deletion... you probably don't want
to delete the workflow itself, but you want to delete some action that
was taken when the user  ran the workflow. What was the action?

I'm not  sure off the top of my head about approving/rejecting multiple
items, but you might be able to figure it out by watching the tutorials
in the link above.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Find more on Workflow question Or get search suggestion and latest updates.