Logo 
Search:

Sharepoint Forum

Ask Question   UnAnswered
Home » Forum » Sharepoint       RSS Feeds

Web.config customizations lost after stopping/starting WSS web application

  Asked By: Angelique    Date: Dec 23    Category: Sharepoint    Views: 2048

To perform server hardware maintenance we stopped the Windows
SharePoint Services Web Application through the central administration
web front-end here:

Central Administration site > Operations > Services on Server >
Click "Stop" link by WSS Web Application.

After starting the service back up by clicking "Start", the Web.config
file had completelly restored itself back to the default settings. All
configurations and settings we made in the web.config previously were
lost.

Specifically, we have some web parts installed in the bin directory in
the hosting WSS ISS application, and SafeControl entries in the
web.config. All of the web.config entries we made were destroyed, yet
the web parts are still in-tact in the file system.

Any ideas why the Web.config gets overwritten?

Share: 

 

1 Answer Found

 
Answer #1    Answered By: Alisha Itagi     Answered On: Dec 23

I believe this is by design.

They shouldn't call it 'start' and 'stop'. The stop  link actually
removes the web  application. They should call it 'install' and 'remove'.

I think you're supposed to quiesce the farm for server  maintenance
activities.