Logo 
Search:

Sharepoint Forum

Ask Question   UnAnswered
Home » Forum » Sharepoint       RSS Feeds

Visual help

Asked By: Alexandria    Date: Jul 13    Category: Sharepoint    Views: 616

I just setup a test portal to play with - prior to going live. As I'm not a designer, I'd like to try different templates that I've seen on MS' site. I've already gotten the portal configured (to start with anyway) with my sites, divisions etc the way I'd like them. However, like to take a template and change the logo etc to what I like, but still use the colors etc from the template.

Is this possible?

Share: 

3 Answers Found

Answer #1    Answered By: Stefanie Ruiz     Answered On: Jul 13

OK, several things….

- Are you referring to the free WSS templates  that Microsoft provides for downloading (www.microsoft.com/.../default.mspx)? If so, those templates are only for WSS sites  and can’t be used for a portal  site.

- You can easily change  the logo  used in a portal site  through the portal site settings. (Site Settings / Change Portal Site Properties and SharePoint Site Creation Settings / Custom Portal Site Logo)

- For a fancier solution for updating the logo, refer to my blog post here: www.heathersolomon.com/blog/articles/166.aspx

- In case you were looking at those WSS templates and now want to know how to customize your portal site, you can check this out as well: heathersolomon.com/.../IntroCustomization.aspx

Answer #2    Answered By: Damon Garner     Answered On: Jul 13

As a newbie - I'm still learning and sites  like yours are what's keeping me up and going.

Yes, I was looking at the WSS template, however, hadn't realized they wouldn't work on Portal. Unfortunately, your quote on your site  "There is not a special tool or application that can do it for you. You basically just get your hands dirty and edit code." says it all... Not that I don't want to learn it, I just though it'd be a bit easier to implement across the whole portal.