Logo 
Search:

Sharepoint Forum

Ask Question   UnAnswered
Home » Forum » Sharepoint       RSS Feeds

Some users lost their permission after Backup and Restore from SPD

  Asked By: Tarak    Date: Jul 31    Category: Sharepoint    Views: 2346

Today I did the task like copying the particular subsite to another
subsite. I did this task by "Backup/Restore website" option using
SharePoint designer. After I restored the website to new location, I
got complaints from some users like their access permissions are lost.
How it is possible?

Later, I went to the folder, where the backup file was created. I just
rename the extension of the backup file .cmp to .cab. After that I
just extract the files using WinRar. In the extracted folder I found
the file "UserGroup.xml". After seeing the file, I realized like, when
we take the backup from SharePoint designer, it uses
"includeusersecurity" option by default. I opened the file
"UserGroup.xml" in text editor and analyse the user account list, some
of the user account is listed twice with IsDeleted="true" and
IsDeleted="false".
Is this the reason some users lost their access permissions?
Why this file keeps the duplicated entries?

Share: 

 

1 Answer Found

 
Answer #1    Answered By: Jim Cason     Answered On: Jul 09

Did you get this issue resoloved? How did you restore  the Group Membership after this?

 




Tagged: