Logo 
Search:

Sharepoint Forum

Ask Question   UnAnswered
Home » Forum » Sharepoint       RSS Feeds

User Permissions

  Asked By: Geena    Date: Dec 20    Category: Sharepoint    Views: 648

I have a question here, users who are listed only as Readers of the
portal shouldn't see "Site Settings" at the top of the page, right?
Well I have a test user listed as a Reader and still seeing "Site
Settings"...my gathering was that this shouldn't be happening.

Any suggestions?

Share: 

 

6 Answers Found

 
Answer #1    Answered By: Courtney Scott     Answered On: Dec 20

Yes, WSS doesn't modify the UI based on security. Basically all users
see the same thing regardless of security, but if you try to access
restricted link/content the user  will be prompted with credentials

 
Answer #2    Answered By: Jagdeep Hor     Answered On: Dec 20

Is this also true in regards to the root portal site  (my case being
http://spointweb)?

 
Answer #3    Answered By: Aja Howe     Answered On: Dec 20

Is your root portal Sharepoint Portal Server???

 
Answer #4    Answered By: Cecil Mckenzie     Answered On: Dec 20

Yes it is...SPS2003..................

 
Answer #5    Answered By: Jaclyn Gordon     Answered On: Dec 20

For Sharepoint Portal Security is handled differently

User will not see the Site Settings if they don't have access to

In addition, user  will only see topics/area they have been granted
access to. Finally Actions are security sensitive as well

HOWEVER, components of Windows Sharepoint Services like list and
document library behave the same way in Sharepoint Portal, i.e. if you
show a Document Library with TOOLBAR in an area where some users  only
have R/O access, they will still see the "New Document, Upload Document
in the Toolbar. (They will not be able to add document at all but still
will see)

I hope Microsoft is planning on fixing the security in WSS because it
doesn't make sense

 
Answer #6    Answered By: Bhupendra Bajpai     Answered On: Dec 20

Some of the text in your previous reply must have gotten cut off
somehow...it read something like this...

"User will not see the Site Settings if they don't have access to"

Then it went to another paragraph without that sentence being
finished...just wondering what it should have been.

 
Didn't find what you were looking for? Find more on User Permissions Or get search suggestion and latest updates.




Tagged: