Sharepoint Forum

Ask Question   UnAnswered
Home » Forum » Sharepoint       RSS Feeds

One user has a My Page - how do I switch it off!

  Asked By: Eddy    Date: Sep 08    Category: Sharepoint    Views: 779

One user on our WSS site has managed somehow or another to switch the main top level page on the WSS site to a My Page. This obviously hasn't got any links on it as the top page is designed to be a shared page to allow the users to connect to the info they need.

How do I switch it off and more to the point how do I stop him (or anybody else) doing it again?



15 Answers Found

Answer #1    Answered By: Christop Mcfadden     Answered On: Sep 08

Are you referring to the “Up to XYZ Site” link in the upper navigation? When you select that it goes to a My Site?

Answer #2    Answered By: Gopal Jamakhandi     Answered On: Sep 08

No, when he logs onto http://extranet.domainname.com he gets a My page  rather than the shared page that everybody else sees.

Answer #3    Answered By: Chantal Rosa     Answered On: Sep 08

The first thing that jumps out at me is that he has changed the
view, which means you probaly need to look at turning them off. That
wouldn't be so bad.

Second thing to look at is the rights to his group. Normally the
default groups have complete rights to the site and
subsites..content and all, but to use a mysite the each user  must be
a member of the "Members Group" and luckly for you( sarcarism) they
have these rights by default. However a Member under a default group
can change a site .

I think the problem is the rights at the root of the portal (his
access). The default groups are not as restrictive as you may have
needed with "adventurious" users.

Answer #4    Answered By: Kyla Eckert     Answered On: Sep 08

Being a complete Sharepoint numpty, how do I do this?

Answer #5    Answered By: Damon Garner     Answered On: Sep 08

Word of caution, to fix permissions can be problematic to other
If you are AD and you used AD domain admins security group as
your the administrator of your portal, anyone in AD Domain Admins
group will be able to make these type of changes.
Also The Administrative security group or account must be a member
of the local admins group, any member of the Local admins group on
the server has rights to all sites (there is a hot fix for this).

I prefered to use a Security Group that is seperate from the Domain
Admins Group, limiting the Damage a Domain admin might do to
Sharepoint. In my setup Domain admins are not administrators on the

(step 1)(sps)Logon with your test account and see what rights the
users have.
Logon as with your admin account, at the Top level site click on the
manage users, select the group and edit the permissions.

(Step 2) for me would be to create an account like the one the user
has (same group memberships) and logon as that account to see what
they see. That will give you the ability to check your changes. Make
sure in the root site (top level site) the users has limited rights.
(select manage users,

(step 3) (Wss)look at the users under the site settings, manage
users, and see what rights were assigned (write them down) there to
this user  and return to site settings, go to site administration,
manage site groups, click on the group they are apart of (not the
check box,) then select edit ..goto the manage personal views
(deselect there ability to do such).

Answer #6    Answered By: Alexis Ellis     Answered On: Sep 08

I can't even speculate on how this could be done. Save aside the
important document libraries and lists, delete the Web, recreate and
templatized the new Web, put the document libraries and lists back.

Answer #7    Answered By: Percy Beach     Answered On: Sep 08

Is there no way *simply* to switch  someone from "My Page" to "Shared
Page". (or at least reasonably simply)

As this is the top level landing page  on a hosted WSS site, your
suggestion is probably totally unfeasible.

Answer #8    Answered By: Mary Adams     Answered On: Sep 08

I may not be completely understanding your scenario. But if a user
has personalized their page, then to reset it back to the shared
view, they should click "Modify My Page", and then click "Reset Page
Content". All personalized web parts will get reset to the shared
values and any private Web Parts will be lost. Is this what you are

If you want to remove personalization for a particular WSS web site,
then edit the rights of the appropriate site group and
remove "Add/Remove Private Web Parts" and "Update Personal Web
Parts". But this affects all users in the amended site group, so if
it is only a subset of user  then create a new site group. As
previously stated you cannot remove this from the Administrator's
site group.

The other alternative is to amend the site definitions and in the
WebPartZone tag place AllowPersonalization="false". This will affect
all users to those Web Part pages you amend. This is how all the
zones on the Portal area web part pages are set, hence why you can
not personalize portal web part pages, except for My Sites - which
you can also stop by clearing the personal rights as mentioned above.

Answer #9    Answered By: Kyla Eckert     Answered On: Sep 08

That was the nice simple answer I was looking for.

Answer #10    Answered By: Alyssa Butler     Answered On: Sep 08

I don't know how this was done, so I don't know how to advise you to
undo it.

Answer #11    Answered By: Gopal Jamakhandi     Answered On: Sep 08

so he
wouldn't have done any complex. I just need to undo his conversion of
the top page  back from a My Page to the Shared Page.

Answer #12    Answered By: Ana Payne     Answered On: Sep 08

I thought that you were asking how a user  switched out the default.aspx
page for the page  from their My Site. You are just asking how to reset
the page if the user personalized it. No problem.

You may also want to check out the Personal Rights for each Site Group
listed on the Manage Site Groups page:

You can also get to the Manage Site Groups page by choosing Site
Settings from the top nav, choosing the Site Administration list, and
choosing the Manage site groups link.

Then click on a Site Group and Edit Site Group Permissions from the

Check out the Personal Rights near the bottom of the list.

Answer #13    Answered By: Laura Walker     Answered On: Sep 08

Are you talking a personal view page  of the public page? All he has to do is switch  it back to the public view in the upper right corner of the page.

Answer #14    Answered By: Lacey Daniels     Answered On: Sep 08

"I may not be completely understanding your scenario. But if a user  has
personalized their page, then to reset it back to the shared view, they
should click "Modify My Page", and then click "Reset page  Content". All
personalized web parts will get reset to the shared values and any
private Web Parts will be lost. Is this what you are after?"

I expect it to be as simple as that. The guy is holiday for two weeks
now, so I can't sort it at this point in time......

Answer #15    Answered By: Megan Martin     Answered On: Sep 08

Interestingly there isn't anything to do that.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Find more on One user has a My Page - how do I switch it off! Or get search suggestion and latest updates.