Logo 
Search:

MOSS Forum

Ask Question   UnAnswered
Home » Forum » MOSS       RSS Feeds

Upgrade to MOSS w/ documents checked out- weird problems

  Asked By: Tyson    Date: Sep 28    Category: MOSS    Views: 1168

It looks like a site administrator had a document checked out prior to
our upgrade to MOSS. This site administrator now cannot see the
document in the upgraded environment. Her coworker (w/ lesser
permissions on that site) can see the document. I can also see it, and
it says it is checked out to our Farm account.

I assume the check out ownership got transferred during the upgrade and
the farm account overtook it. Why, though, can't the site administrator
(who had the document checked out at the time of the upgrade) even see
the document while her coworker and I can?

Also, I tried going in as a site collection admin and checking in the
document. It told me it wasn't checked out. I then tried to discard
checkout and got the same message.

What the heck is going on?? Is there any way to get this document back
to normal, checked in, and visible/editable to all? Any related
experience/advice is welcome.

Share: 

 

2 Answers Found

 
Answer #1    Answered By: Gobinda Navalagi     Answered On: Sep 28

The site  collection admin  should be able to view checked  out files in list
management, then take ownership. At that point, you can check  them back in.

Also, this might be a similar issue?

 
Answer #2    Answered By: Rose Silva     Answered On: Sep 28

Unfortunately, it seems to be a different problem. I
went in as a site  collection admin  and tried to manage checked  out
files via library settings. It said there was nothing that didn't
have a checked in version. That is true. The document  in question
does have versions people can see, but it doesn't allow anyone to
check it back in or discard checkout. It just keeps saying it isn't
checked out...except that it is and no one else can check  it out.

Ugh. Another bug. I just wound up saving a copy for the group to
start using. At least they had been using track changes, so they can
still see all of the old edits from each individual. Still- very
frustrating.

 
Didn't find what you were looking for? Find more on Upgrade to MOSS w/ documents checked out- weird problems Or get search suggestion and latest updates.




Tagged: