Logo 
Search:

MOSS Forum

Ask Question   UnAnswered
Home » Forum » MOSS       RSS Feeds

Transplanting Users ?

  Asked By: Bob    Date: Oct 09    Category: MOSS    Views: 612

I had a MOSS 2007 stand-alone server die that was hosting a single
WSS site (plus one subsite), and I am trying to restore the site
into a VM, and the 30 users. I have attached the VM, and given the
Administrator blanket full access to every site. At this point, I
can view the old site, and everything looks great when I log in as
Administrator.

My current problem is the 30 users, and the authors of the existing
content. This is a new machine (VM) with the same hostname, IP
address and user names and group names, but I wonder if GUIDs,
capitalization or something else is still causing problems for me.

I had created a few groups in the local box's Manage -> "Users and
Groups" area. Then I had added them to the site as a user. Then all
users I would add to the local group automatically got access to the
site.

Does it make sense that recreating users of the same names would
automatically work and tie all preexisting content back to the
proper usernames (including stuff like "Show my posts" to see old
content properly assigned to the newly created user) ?

Share: 

 

2 Answers Found

 
Answer #1    Answered By: Peter Peterson     Answered On: Oct 09

Nope. SharePoint remembers SID instead of login name.

 
Answer #2    Answered By: Kalyan Pujari     Answered On: Oct 09

STSADM exposes a "migrateuser" operation. You can create those accounts
again, but as Loke notes, they'll have different SIDS. You can then use the
migrateuser operation to update those accounts in SharePoint, but you might
have to create a dummy account to make it work.

In V2 with SP2, the migrateuser operation would not work if the source
account and target account were the same, for instance

STSADM -o migrateuser -oldlogin "DOMAIN\Aaron" -newlogin "DOMAIN\Aaron"
-ignoresidhistory

It would detect that the source and target account were the same, in which
case you would create a temp account and do the following:

STSADM -o migrateuser -oldlogin "DOMAIN\Aaron" -newlogin "DOMAIN\temp"
-ignoresidhistory

STSADM -o migrateuser -oldlogin "DOMAIN\temp" -newlogin "DOMAIN\Aaron"
-ignoresidhistory

Give that a try for one of the users, and see if that works out for you

 
Didn't find what you were looking for? Find more on Transplanting Users ? Or get search suggestion and latest updates.




Tagged: