Logo 
Search:

MOSS Forum

Ask Question   UnAnswered
Home » Forum » MOSS       RSS Feeds

Stop or delay Deletion of MySite when the employee leaves

  Asked By: Kaci    Date: Mar 05    Category: MOSS    Views: 2904

How can I stop MOSS from deleting a specified MySite when the
employee is no longer with us?
It is not acceptable to the Domain Control group to keep the user
account. As I understand, MOSS will delete the MySite when the account
is removed from DC.

Share: 

 

10 Answers Found

 
Answer #1    Answered By: Ivy Salinas     Answered On: Mar 05

I'm not a MOSS guy but I don't think that My Sites are deleted when the
account is deleted, I thought it was abandoned.

 
Answer #2    Answered By: Kevin Davis     Answered On: Mar 05

The below is my understanding

A my site is just a stand alone site collection following the my site template
with a named ujser as the site owner

Like any site collection, it doesn't get deleted when the site owners AD account
is deleted

You can still navigate to it by entering the url for the site even tho the user
account goes

If I am right this should be pretty easy for you to check

 
Answer #3    Answered By: Meenakshi Khochar     Answered On: Mar 05

You are correct that the Mysite does not get deleted right away.

Unfortunately, if the employee  left some time last year. When the
site is inactive for more than 30 days MOSS send a warning message
and then proceed to delete  the site.

I want to override this and MOSS will never delete a MySite.

In other words, I want to keep all MySites unless I manually delete
it.

 
Answer #4    Answered By: Latrice Henson     Answered On: Mar 05

It only gets deleted if you have enabled the unused site collection
feature in Central Administration. By default, this is not enabled. Just
turn it off.

 
Answer #5    Answered By: Nidhi Tiwary     Answered On: Mar 05

That affects all Site Collections, not just My Sites (personal) Site Collections
and requires every Site Collection to verify it is still needed on a periodic
basis regardless of use.

 
Answer #6    Answered By: Beatrice Serrano     Answered On: Mar 05

I didn't say it was a best practice

In fact, it is quite the opposite. This feature is basically broken and,
if used, will send a link to all site collection administrators to
delete their site collection, including My Site owners. I rarely see it
used and *generally* recommend against its use.

 
Answer #7    Answered By: Maya Lewis     Answered On: Mar 05

Something that might be advisable would be to implement the MS IT Site
Delete Capture version 1.0 available over on CodePlex. At least in this
case you've got some extra control  if you should happen to turn on the site
deletion capability....

www.codeplex.com/.../ProjectReleases.aspx

 
Answer #8    Answered By: Paola Mcmahon     Answered On: Mar 05

I'll be in my office tomorrow, will apply your advices, and report
back.

 
Answer #9    Answered By: Justin Mckee     Answered On: Mar 05

OK. I found the delete  option in the CA > Application Management.

 
Answer #10    Answered By: Jared Bell     Answered On: Mar 05

Isn't that a setting on the web app in central admin ?

I'm not at a machine right now but you should be able to change that behaviour
in central admin for sure

Let me know if you can't find where and I will look it up for you tomorrow.

 
Didn't find what you were looking for? Find more on Stop or delay Deletion of MySite when the employee leaves Or get search suggestion and latest updates.




Tagged: