Logo 
Search:

Sharepoint Forum

Ask Question   UnAnswered
Home » Forum » Sharepoint       RSS Feeds

Site Restore and Database Creation?

  Asked By: Cesar    Date: Apr 01    Category: Sharepoint    Views: 949

We had a Team Site. Backed up the site with stsadm, delete the site and tried to restore the site. However, when we tried to restore the site, it forced us to recreate a new database.

Under SQL Enterprise Manager we have what looks like two config dabases: Our original and the new one we created. After we created the database the site restored just fine.

Questions:

Can we roll up the new database into the original?

In the future should we just point to the original database, rather then create a new one?

Will it hurt to keep the two?

Share: 

 

1 Answer Found

 
Answer #1    Answered By: Lewis Mann     Answered On: Apr 01

site  backed up using STSADMN retains its GUID. In same content Db you
cannot have same site to exist twice (b/c of GUID).

Probably you deleted the Sub-Site but not the Top Level Web Site. Use enum
to see if the original  site is still there (and causing this conflict)

You must delete  the Top Level Site first before restoring using STSADMN
backup, or you can use overwrite switch when restoring the site.

 
Didn't find what you were looking for? Find more on Site Restore and Database Creation? Or get search suggestion and latest updates.




Tagged: