Logo 
Search:

Sharepoint Forum

Ask Question   UnAnswered
Home » Forum » Sharepoint       RSS Feeds

SharePoint Designer: Workflow: Copy document from library to library

  Asked By: Julianne    Date: Jan 01    Category: Sharepoint    Views: 16363

In my Shared Documents library I have a
simple workflow as follows:

Copy item in Shared Documents to Document Library

then Delete item in Shared Documents

The workflow successfully copies the item to the Document Library and
deletes it from the Shared Documents library, BUT rather than creating a
new version of the document, it creates a new document with the document
name followed by a "time stamp" of types... i.e. GRU_DMC_ON still exists
and now I have GRU_DMC_ON(2009-01-05_8-33-27_90238) as well.

I could delete the original document but then I've lost all of my
version history!

Where have I gone wrong? What are my options?

Share: 

 

4 Answers Found

 
Answer #1    Answered By: Glenda Roth     Answered On: Jan 01

All items in SharePoint, including documents, are tracked in the database
through the use of Globally Unique Identifiers. The two documents  in the
different libraries have different GUIDs, so when you copy  the document  from
SharedDocuments to Documents it doesn't create a new version, it creates  a new
document. This is by design and can't be changed using just SharePoint
Designer. To do this you would need to create a custom action in Visual Studio
and add it into sharepoint  designer.

 
Answer #2    Answered By: Jada Clemons     Answered On: Jan 01

When I use the "Custom Send to Destination" feature, the Send
To successfully  copies the document  to the target library  and honors my
versioning. Is there someway to incorporate that within a SPD workflow?

 
Answer #3    Answered By: Brooke Lewis     Answered On: Jan 01

That functionality isn't available out of the box in SharePoint. You could add
it, but only through custom code.

 
Answer #4    Answered By: Petterik Deus     Answered On: Jan 20

I created the same type of workflow and I belief this can be done easily with SP Designer; You can adjust the parameters of the copy-item-to command that you use. (so select the copy item to command; now You can select the advanced properties button on the ribbon. The first parameter is called [overwrite] ( yours would be default on the value: <No>) change it to yes. Save Publish etc.. and now it will overwrite the item; creating a new version of the document instead of a unique one.


 

Related Topics:



Tagged:            

 

Related Post