Sharepoint Forum

Ask Question   UnAnswered
Home » Forum » Sharepoint       RSS Feeds

Shared Services

  Asked By: Evelyn    Date: Nov 27    Category: Sharepoint    Views: 767

Has anyone had any experience in turning on Shared Services after
having two or more portals setup? I currently have 3 separate portals
setup and want to turn on shared services. Are there any consequences
to turning it on after the portals are setup?

I have attempted to do this in a test environment and it doesn't
appear to affect the sites, but when I go to My Site, it seems like it
just churns and churns, but can never load the site.

If it "kills" the My Sites, is there a way to delete the current My
Sites and then recreate them?



11 Answers Found

Answer #1    Answered By: Laura Walker     Answered On: Nov 27

So the My site  issue happens only after you turn  on Shared Services in your test  environment? If it was happening before I would suggest getting that issue worked out first before you mess with Shared Services. Do other My sites  work for other users?

You will not notice anything different about your sites after activating Shared Services. The whole process is rather anti-climatic. But there is no turning  back once you have activated it. That is the only consequence to turning it on. But once on, you don’t have to necessarily use Shared Services either.

Answer #2    Answered By: Nina Banks     Answered On: Nov 27

Yes, the My site  issue was only after turning  on Shared Services. It appears that all other sites  seem to work correctly and that it is not a specific user that it is happening to. It is happening to all My Sites. It attempts to load, but then seems to hang.

Answer #3    Answered By: Sharonda Mcfarland     Answered On: Nov 27

Does the same behavior happen when you click on My Site from any of the 3 portals?

Answer #4    Answered By: Harshini Raju     Answered On: Nov 27

My understanding is that this is because you have turned on shared  services (quelle surprise)

When you turn  this on ALL my sites  get provided by the master portal – so anyone going to an old link gets an error – i.e. its best to do this before you start commissioning my sites

Not much help but at least you know what the problem is

Answer #5    Answered By: Gopal Jamakhandi     Answered On: Nov 27

yes it does...........................

Answer #6    Answered By: Chantal Rosa     Answered On: Nov 27

Now, you see, I would have thought they would still have worked for the master portal.

Answer #7    Answered By: Kyla Eckert     Answered On: Nov 27

Yeah, I think there is definitely an issue, as My sites  should not behave this way after activating Shared Services. I was unable to find another instance of this issue in my online research, one thing you can do is call product support.

If you call them, I would suggest beforehand using a new test  account to create a new My site  to see if the behavior is limited to existing personal sites, or all personal sites. Has anything else changed in your environment? Is it possible that something else is causing this issue, and it is just a coincidence that it happened when you enabled Shared Services?

Answer #8    Answered By: Damon Garner     Answered On: Nov 27

Well, I guess it is time to call product support.

I did try creating a new user and logging in as that user, creating a new My Site. I got the same results. As for any other changes, no, there were none. I specifically built this test  area for this particular test. Nothing additional had been done.

Answer #9    Answered By: Alexis Ellis     Answered On: Nov 27

This makes sense. Can the old "links" or My Sites be deleted and then recreated on the master portal?

Answer #10    Answered By: Percy Beach     Answered On: Nov 27

Well, I’ve looked at the course notes for the course I’ve just been on and all they said is that this is one of the shred services  so you get redirected back to the master portal – what they didn’t tell us was how to fix it – but I’ll delve a little for you

Answer #11    Answered By: Mary Adams     Answered On: Nov 27

all it says is

My site  Personal Sites

My Site provides a personal Web site for a portal user. My Site provides quick access to information a person needs to do their work. This may include links to documents, individual profiles, or Web sites, as well as alert results noting content changes in the employee's portal site or any content within the portal's content sources. From their personal site, a user can also update their public profile and share their collection of links with other portal site users. Personal sites  can be hosted on a non-parent portal site or another server farm.

With shared  services, personal sites are created only in the parent portal site and can be viewed and accessed from the child portal sites. The My Site portal page is also located in the parent portal site.

I would, first of all, set up a new user and check that their my site works because it should just create it in the parent portal for them

The only other thing Microsoft say is

Operational Considerations

Organizations should consider the following before providing or using Shared Services:

· Farms providing and using Shared services  must be running the same version of SharePoint Portal Server using the same language.

· A firewall cannot be used between server farms providing and using Shared Services. Both server farms must be on the intranet, on the extranet, or in a perimeter network (also known as DMZ, demilitarized zone, and screened subnet).

· Back up the server farm before configuring it to provide or use Shared Services. After the server farm has been configured for Shared Services, the operation cannot be undone.

· Some services and scheduled tasks in a server farm need to be turned off before the server farm is set up to use Shared Services. These services and tasks include the Microsoft SharePoint Portal Server Search service (SharePointPSSearch), search schedules, profile import, and the audience compilation schedule.

· After configuring a server farm to provide Shared Services, all other portal sites on that server farm become child portal sites.

· Server farms providing and using Shared Services must belong to the same domain or trusted domain.

· Services are shared at the server farm level. All portal sites on a server farm that uses Shared Services will, therefore, be child portal sites.

· A child portal site can never be changed into a parent portal site.

· When the server farm is configured to use Shared Services, services that are no longer required on the server farm using Shared Services are disabled.

· Backup the server farm immediately after configuring it to use Shared Services in order to preserve the initial state and configuration of the farm.

Security Considerations

· The portal site application pool for the server farm using Shared Services is, by default, a member of the “db_owner database role” in SQL Server on the profile, component settings, and content databases for the parent portal site.

· The configuration database administration account for the server farm using Shared Services is a member of the db_owner database role in SQL Server on the configuration database for the server farm providing Shared Services.

So no mention of my sites.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Find more on Shared Services Or get search suggestion and latest updates.