Logo 
Search:

Sharepoint Forum

Ask Question   UnAnswered
Home » Forum » Sharepoint       RSS Feeds

How to revert custom WSS 2.0 Site Definitions for WSS 3.0?

  Asked By: Charmaine    Date: Mar 26    Category: Sharepoint    Views: 1251

Currently I am testing the upgrade process from WSS 2.0 to WSS 3.0 in
regards to custom site definitions.

I have created a custom site definition by creating the appropriate
webtemp.xml file for my site definition and made a copy of the STS
folder and called it "TEST". I then edited the default.aspx file for
the TEST site definition to include the words "THIS IS A TEST" at the
top of the screen.

After upgrading to WSS 3.0 it does not upgrade this site definition.

Goal: I would like to just revert this custom site definition back to
the WSS 3.0 team site and we can make our edits through master pages
instead of custom site definitions.

I am not seeing how to do this however, and so far Microsoft hasn't
gotten back to me (have had a case open for about 7 business days now).

Does anyone know how to do this? To give you an idea of what I am
seeing after upgrading to WSS 3.0 on a site that is using this custom
site definition see below (Clicking on Site Settings, and then clicking
reset to site definition does nothing)

Share: 

 

1 Answer Found

 
Answer #1    Answered By: Cory Brooks     Answered On: Mar 26

As always, once a site  definition is chosen you cannot change it to
another - even during upgrade  (I think). Not only that, it is still a
good idea  to create your own site definitions, especially if you are
going to use a custom  Master Page. That said, Feature stapeling can be a
God sent when you must use out of the box site definitions.

 
Didn't find what you were looking for? Find more on How to revert custom WSS 2.0 Site Definitions for WSS 3.0? Or get search suggestion and latest updates.




Tagged: