Logo 
Search:

Sharepoint Forum

Ask Question   UnAnswered
Home » Forum » Sharepoint       RSS Feeds

Remove or re-connect My Sites in new domain?

  Asked By: Tanya    Date: Sep 21    Category: Sharepoint    Views: 1169

For reasons I'll not go into, I recently moved a portal to a new domain (by moving the SQL databases from the prior domain and reconnecting once in a new domain). Now any My Sites that existed under the previous domain are still there, but not directly accessible. i.e. If someone clicks on "My Site" they get a message that the site cannot be created because it already exists. I can still search for the sites and get to them, though.
This is not unexpected, but I'd like to "fix" the issue.

What's the best way to either reconnect the existing sites to the appropriate people again? Or to simply delete and re-create all My Sites? Either is fine, as this is not a production environment...

Share: 

 

2 Answers Found

 
Answer #1    Answered By: Darrius Whitfield     Answered On: Sep 21

Try running stadm: "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\web server extensions\60\BIN\STSADM.exe" -o enumsites -url "http://[yourServerUrl]" and check the owner of the personal sites  and use 'stsadm -o siteowner' to change the owner to the correct domain  account.

 
Answer #2    Answered By: Adrienne Greene     Answered On: Sep 21

I initially got an error that "The user name <username> does not have an email address" - I went to https://portalname/site/_layouts/1033/siteusrs.aspx to check and had to add an email address manually for the user, even though an address seemed to exist already...

 
Didn't find what you were looking for? Find more on Remove or re-connect My Sites in new domain? Or get search suggestion and latest updates.




Tagged: