Logo 
Search:

Sharepoint Forum

Ask Question   UnAnswered
Home » Forum » Sharepoint       RSS Feeds

Remove "Overwrite current minor version" at check in, and limit "Dis

  Asked By: Brendan    Date: Nov 30    Category: Sharepoint    Views: 11589

I know I need to edit the "Checkin.aspx" page in templates, but I don't
know what all needs to be edited to remove the option to "Overwrite the current
minor version."

Also, I would like to security trim the "Discard Check-out" option to ManageWebs
only, but have no idea where to even begin to look for that.

This is the 2nd request for both of these. I'm getting better at figuring stuff
out on my own, but I still run into roadblocks.

Share: 

 

7 Answers Found

 
Answer #1    Answered By: Yvonne Rodriquez     Answered On: Nov 30

I know I need to edit  the "Checkin.aspx" page  in templates, but I don't
know what all needs to be edited  to remove  the option  to "Overwrite the current
minor version."

Also, I would like to security  trim the "Discard Check-out" option to ManageWebs
only, but have no idea  where to even begin to look for that.

This is the 2nd  request for both of these. I'm getting better at figuring stuff
out on my own, but I still run  into roadblocks.

 
Answer #2    Answered By: Elisha Abbott     Answered On: Nov 30

I was going to mention that I've cracked this kind of nut
with Javascript in the past, but I thought it was a bit lowbrow for this
august gathering of experts :) Then again, I've hacked the core.js to
create multiple-select listboxes in Infopath, so maybe there's a market for
this kind of thing!

The overwrite  option can be removed with a bit of Javascript as well (you
can stick it in the checkin.aspx page  if you want it to happen all over).
You can even set the value of the checkbox to true or false while hiding it;
if you need more pointers (assuming you actually want to go with that
approach), let me know and I'll spin up my local VM and whip something out
for your perusal.

 
Answer #3    Answered By: Naimish Ranganekar     Answered On: Nov 30

I would really like to see what I could
do though.
We have some, shall we say, unethical users, and I would like to remove  the
temptation for them to cover their tracks, or someone else's.

I think getting the overwrite  option out, and removing the "Unpublish" option
will force our users to behave like adults instead of editing a file, printing
it, and then removing the evidence.

 
Answer #4    Answered By: Caleb Gordon     Answered On: Nov 30

If that's the problem, couldn't you just enable versioning?

 
Answer #5    Answered By: Christie Carlson     Answered On: Nov 30

I have enabled versioning. The issue lies with the ability to overwrite  the
current version. A user can check  out the item, edit, check-in, overwriting the
current minor  version. This effectively loses the previous minor version. With
a bunch of Civil, Mechanical and Piping engineers in my company, they like
pointing the finger at someone else. (Personal accountability is not big here,
and I would like to prevent them from pointing fingers at each other.) It is
similar with Major versions. I would like to ensure that when they Publish a
file, they are sure, and cannot take it back. Our clients will see published
files, and it helps to add to our credibility when our "issued" documents don't
suddenly get "unissued." It's a long convoluted mess, and if I could do these
simple things to make sure that everyone is playing fair, it would be nice.

 
Answer #6    Answered By: Dorothy Farmer     Answered On: Nov 30

I found how to disable the overwrite  option, similar to the solution that I
found the other day, again, not ideal, but it works for our installation. I
also checked the undeploy feature, and it's just my thought that the display of
this should be security  trimmed. That would prevent a lot of heartache. I
think only those who have the appropriate permissions should be able to view
this option, and I have no idea  why it wasn't set up that way to begin with.
Any one have any thoughts on that?

 
Answer #7    Answered By: Nidhi Jayaswal     Answered On: May 06

Check-out the post below:

social.technet.microsoft.com/.../overwrite-minor-version-option-missing-in-office-2007-applications

The question in this post explains that the "Overwrite the current minor version" option is not available to users who do not have permission to "Delete versions of the items". So, if your purpose is to disable the user's facility to "Overwrite the current minor version", you can deselect the above permission in the permission level corresponding to the correct security group.

Hope this helps!

 




Tagged: