Logo 
Search:

Sharepoint Forum

Ask Question   UnAnswered
Home » Forum » Sharepoint       RSS Feeds

Read-only users need to run a workflow

  Asked By: Joseph    Date: Jan 22    Category: Sharepoint    Views: 6042

We are trying to build a custom favorites list in SharePoint so that we can
display a web part and filter it for the current user.

I'm envisioning a workflow that would be manually started, adding a favorite
link to this custom list.

Problem: the document library contains our corporate reports (SSRS) and must be
locked down. How can we allow users to only run workflows within this library
but otherwise be read-only users?

Share: 

 

6 Answers Found

 
Answer #1    Answered By: Sumitra 2004     Answered On: Jan 22

What do your users  need to do?

I would say you need a custom  permission level. Copy Contribute level and take
off delete functions, at a minimum. The workflow  will need rights to modify if
they are to have any use for workflows...

 
Answer #2    Answered By: Bhairavi Damle     Answered On: Jan 22

Modify is exactly what we can't allow them to do, and yet we
need them to be able to start a workflow.

I wonder if a VS-designed workflow  could impersonate an account with higher
permissions.

 
Answer #3    Answered By: Leeann Hull     Answered On: Jan 22

You could maybe have a separate list  that they have contribute access to that
they could approve etc... Then once that is updated it would trigger a workflow
that would update data on the read only list.

 
Answer #4    Answered By: Vaasu Radhakrishna     Answered On: Jan 22

We have done exactly that in a couple of scenarios. It's worth checking
out!

That is also a great idea. An approval workflow  would then be run  from the
permission set of an approver who should have the correct permissions....

 
Answer #5    Answered By: Brinda Bca     Answered On: Jan 22

Something that I have found works.

Workflow A starts on change.
It starts workflow  B.

Workflow B
Starts with a 1 minute pause
Then it does the changes that need advanced permissions.

Something with the combination of being a called workflow and the pause has the
workflow running under the system account, not the permissions of the person who
made the change.

 
Answer #6    Answered By: Sheryl Velez     Answered On: Jan 22

Did you try some of the 3rd party "permission by column" web  parts? It sounds
as if this is EXACTLY what you want.

Another idea - we simulate the behavior you describe by using custom  edit
forms, i.e., obscure the fields you want left alone while in fact, they have
contribute permissons.

 
Didn't find what you were looking for? Find more on Read-only users need to run a workflow Or get search suggestion and latest updates.




Tagged: