Sharepoint Forum

Ask Question   UnAnswered
Home » Forum » Sharepoint       RSS Feeds

Question about backup/restore of a WSS v2 site

  Asked By: Tara    Date: Feb 01    Category: Sharepoint    Views: 838

I just backed up a site using FrontPage, then created a new subsite
elsewhere and restored the backup over that new subsite.

Problem is that my name is all over everything. Instead of showing the
original "created by" and "modified by" names, my name has replaced
each of these. Any ideas on how to avoid this? It really screws up the
history of the info on the site.

FYI: I did this to "move" a site underneath a "parent" site, but I
really want to retain the correct names of folks who created/modified



11 Answers Found

Answer #1    Answered By: Emmett Hyde     Answered On: Feb 01

If you do your backups with smigrate there is no way to avoid  this.
Smigrate will not maintain any user level information like permissions,
owners, etc. The best you can do as an admin is mitigate the damage by
doing the smigrate restore as another user so that their name is
attached to everything.

Answer #2    Answered By: Michelle White     Answered On: Feb 01

Is there a backup/restore tool out there that doesn't
do this? I don't even need to retain  permissions- I just need to
keep the "created by" and "modified by" names  the same as they
originally were.

Answer #3    Answered By: Sheena Ray     Answered On: Feb 01

I believe that Smigrate will maintain "Created By" and "Modified By" for
existing items. I looked at some items that I used Smigrate to import
websites into another portal, and the item-level user information was
preserved. However, site-level and list security permissions were lost.

Answer #4    Answered By: Jaime Weaver     Answered On: Feb 01

Yes- I just checked older sites where I did this, and they retained
those details as well.

So now my big mystery is simply why this is happening to this one
particular site  of mine. I've tried about 5-6 times now to do a
backup/restore of this site, and each time it wipes out that crucial
user info. I noticed it's actually also wiping out the "assigned to"
folks from the tasks list.

I don't know how to troubleshoot this one. Is it possible that
there's something wrong w/ the site itself?

Answer #5    Answered By: Damon Garner     Answered On: Feb 01

You may want to try using STSAdm.exe and backup/restore the entire site
collection to see if that information is still preserved.

Answer #6    Answered By: Karla Morrison     Answered On: Feb 01

I've been forced to use Smigrate a few times and every time I've used it
it has wiped out the Created By information. As others have said,
STSADM will maintain this information. The catch is that STSADM will
only work at the site  Collection level, whereas Smigrate will work at
the Subsite (also called Webs) level.

Answer #7    Answered By: Patricia Richardson     Answered On: Feb 01

I think when I have used smigrate to migrate within the same site  collection,
the created  by information was preserved. But when I've used smigrate to migrate
from one site collection to another, it does not preserve it. This makes sense
to me, however, since the User IDs are all stored at the site collection level.

Answer #8    Answered By: Alexandra Patterson     Answered On: Feb 01

I unfortunately don't have server access, so I do the following (not
sure if it's the equivalent to using smigrate/stsadm or not):

-open site  in frontpage
-"tools," "server," "backup website"
-create a new subsite  under another site
-stop at the template picker page and copy URL
-go back to frontpage, "open site" using the URL of the new site I
just created
-"tools," "server," "restore web site" (and I choose the fwp file I
created when backing up the original site)

This is how I've been doing it since I can't go into the server's
command prompt.

Well, I've been testing this today, and all I can think of is that
the site in question  is very very old (created in Feb '04 and hardly
touched since). It hasn't happened w/ any of the newer sites I've
backed up/restored.

Answer #9    Answered By: Christop Mcfadden     Answered On: Feb 01

You can run smigrate from a workstation, but you must run stsadm from a
SharePoint front-end web server. Smigrate and FrontPage create the same
backup files (*.fwp). I wonder if Smigrate commands preserve more
information than FrontPage (?). I prefer Smigrate because it can be

Answer #10    Answered By: Stefanie Ruiz     Answered On: Feb 01

I think you'll find Smigrate and FrontPage backups of the same web will
maintain the same information.

STSADM can be scripted, but like you said, it has to be run on the
server. And it only deals with Site Collections, which is somewhat

Answer #11    Answered By: Damon Garner     Answered On: Feb 01

FrontPage is functionally identical to smigrate. It uses the same
process. FrontPage is essentially just a GUI front end for Smigrate in
this regard.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Find more on Question about backup/restore of a WSS v2 site Or get search suggestion and latest updates.