Logo 
Search:

Sharepoint Forum

Ask Question   UnAnswered
Home » Forum » Sharepoint       RSS Feeds

Odd Version History Behavior

  Asked By: Uma    Date: Jul 24    Category: Sharepoint    Views: 876

This has come up in a document library, and I can't find anything
about it on the web.

The library has mandatory check-out and Major versions enabled. A user
uploaded a Word document and checked it in, then checked it back out,
made changes, checked it back in. On check-in, Version 1 disappeared,
and versions 2 and 3 were created. Both versions are identical,
however if I use Compare documents on them, Word lists the changes,
but both versions look identical (In this case all of the changes were
comments, and they showed up in both Version 2 and Version 3, but Word
claimed they weren't in Version 2.)

I was able to replicate this once, but not a second time.

There appears to be another document where this has happened several
times.

After this happened, I removed the "Delete Versions" from the User
Permissions in Central Admin, so if it happens again, I know that it
wasn't a user deleting the old version.

Any suggestions?

Share: 

 

5 Answers Found

 
Answer #1    Answered By: Janak Jadeja     Answered On: Jul 24

Do you happen to have any workflows running on that document  library?

 
Answer #2    Answered By: Jude Alston     Answered On: Jul 24

No, no standard or custom workflows.

 
Answer #3    Answered By: Araceli Eaton     Answered On: Jul 24

I may be something that the users are doing.
I've seen situations where a workflow was involved, so that when an item
was changed, and the workflow ran, it saved yet another version  with the
workflow's changes  in it.

 
Answer #4    Answered By: Nisarg Kapadia     Answered On: Jul 24

For what it's worth, I occasionally have untrained users who do unusual
things, like the guy who had trouble saving back  to SharePoint so he'd
delete the document  and then re-add it with his changes. You'd be surprised
how creative they can be.

 
Answer #5    Answered By: Jaferry Khan     Answered On: Jul 24

This goes beyond that - the original is deleted. The only versions
showing are 2 and 3 and they are identical. And as I said, I was able
to recreate the behavior  one time, but not consistently.

 
Didn't find what you were looking for? Find more on Odd Version History Behavior Or get search suggestion and latest updates.




Tagged: