MOSS Forum

Ask Question   UnAnswered
Home » Forum » MOSS       RSS Feeds

MOSS 07 Installation Quirks - SSRS Connectivity & SSP Permissions

Asked By: Ganesh    Date: Feb 11    Category: MOSS    Views: 697

I'm new to MOSS 07 and am currently learning it. I've done clean installs and post-install configuration a few times now and I've noticed 2 quirks associated with a fresh install. I'm not sure what is going on or the best way to "fix" them.

1 - I install SQL 05 with SSRS prior to installing MOSS and I always check to make sure that SSRS is configured and I can connect to it in the SQL Management Studio. Once the Default port 80 Web App is provisioned, however, I can no longer connect to SSRS via the SQL MS. I understand that this is related to the fact that the default Web App that hosts the SSRS sites is the Default 80 Web Site and that this port is taken over by the SharePoint 80 portal. My question is, how to handle this. I understand that I can configure SSRS to run via SP Integration. However, when I install SSRS 05 initially and prior to installing/configuring MOSS, should SSRS be installed under a separate Web App and Port than the Default? Does SP Integration restore the ability to connect to SSRS via the SQL Mang. Studio?

2 - In an attempt to get used to a "production" way of doing things, I create Domain Service accounts for both installing MOSS and running the services. My problem is with the results of using an installation account. I call it "spinstall" and a wierd thing happens that I'm not sure why or how to correct it. What happens is that once the Install is done, I normally use an administrator account for configuration. However, after I first provision the Shared Services Provider there are several areas in SSP that I cannot access with the Administrator account, but only with the "spinstall" account. These include the following configuration zones:

"User profiles and properties"
"Profile service policies"
"My Site settings"