Logo 
Search:

Sharepoint Forum

Ask Question   UnAnswered
Home » Forum » Sharepoint       RSS Feeds

How granular a restore is possible through Central Admin's back up

  Asked By: Chelsea    Date: Dec 18    Category: Sharepoint    Views: 1129

If I just wanted to restore a couple of items and the recycle bin was
not an option, can I do this?

For instance, can I restore items from a list and only items from that
list? If not, is there anyway to do that?

Also,

If I have a full back up and run it, will it delete all the data that
has been added after that back up was run?
Is there a way to keep all my current data and do a restore?

Share: 

 

3 Answers Found

 
Answer #1    Answered By: Christen Roberson     Answered On: Dec 18

The Central Admin backups are just database dumps, so the most granular
restore you can do from them is at the Content Database level. You have
some options though. You can restore  the database to another
environment and get your items  from there. There are also a couple  of
tools that you can point at a Content Database that will pull out the
blobs that correspond to your documents. Finally I think Quest has a
SharePoint recovery product that can attach directly to the database
without SharePoint.

 
Answer #2    Answered By: Faith Delgado     Answered On: Dec 18

My understanding is that Quest (or maybe Qwest) has a backup/restore
utility that will do some granular  discovery of the content in your
content DBs, and allow you to restore  smaller chunks from the full
backup.

 
Answer #3    Answered By: Amrita Durgude     Answered On: Dec 18

Some of this has been answered already, still...

Why is the recycle  bin not  an option? Were the items  to be restored
past the retention period set on the bin? Does this happen frequently?
If so, consider changing the properties of the recycle bin  to allow for
your recovery options.

As to a full  restore, in essence, yes, if you do a full restore  you
will replace your exisiting content dbs with those of the restore,
thereby losing anything that has been added  since the backup was made.
However, as was mentioned in another post, you could restore to a
different system and then move the content you need to your existing
sites.

 




Tagged: