Sharepoint Forum

Ask Question   UnAnswered
Home » Forum » Sharepoint       RSS Feeds

FP2003 Backup and Alerts

  Asked By: Ty    Date: Sep 15    Category: Sharepoint    Views: 676

Have just backed up a site with FP2003 with content and then recreated it on another server. All of the people who had an alert on the backed up site, were then sent an alert when the first actions were performed on the same list in the new site.

OK, I think we would get the "as designed" on that one, but what with the fact that the permissions are not carried over, one would have thought that any user related content would also also not be carried over. Anyone else noticed this ?



3 Answers Found

Answer #1    Answered By: Walter Stone     Answered On: Sep 15

You are right - this is by design. SMIGRATE or FP Migrate (which is GUI to
the same tool) is not designed to carry over any personalization or
security/permissions. They all get dropped out.

Use STSADM Backup/Restore for a full fidelity move of site  from Point A to
point B. Also note that STSADM only works at Top-Level Site (including all
sub-sites). You cannot use it for a sub-site.

There was a discussion about this deal few weeks ago on this group that you
may found useful.

Answer #2    Answered By: Jamar Yates     Answered On: Sep 15

Mypoint was, why then does the backup  take alerts  across....surely a
cleaner approach is to not take any user  related content/config across ?

Answer #3    Answered By: Aaron Lopez     Answered On: Sep 15

That is interesting if users are getting alerts  from migrated sites.
I am not at a place where I can test it but based upon what I know and
experienced I would include Alerts as part of user  related thing which
should not be carried over (unless it is a v1 to v2 upgrade). Following is
an extract from WSS Admin Help. It does not mention Alerts explicitly but I
would imply Alerts as well.

Migrating Windows SharePoint Services Sites to Another server  Running
Windows SharePoint Services
If you use the SharePoint Migration Tool to migrate a site  based on Windows
SharePoint Services to another server running Windows SharePoint Services,
the following information is not migrated to the new site:

Security settings including: rights, site groups and memberships, cross-site
groups, anonymous access setting, and whether or not permissions  are
inherited from the parent site.
SharePoint Central Administration settings for the server or virtual server.
Personalizations including personal views.
Web Part customizations made through Modify My Web Part instead of Modify
Shared Web Part.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Find more on FP2003 Backup and Alerts Or get search suggestion and latest updates.