Logo 
Search:

Sharepoint Forum

Ask Question   UnAnswered
Home » Forum » Sharepoint       RSS Feeds

File could not be checked in because the original version of the file on the server was moved o

  Asked By: Miriam    Date: Jan 01    Category: Sharepoint    Views: 4104

Your able to upload documents into a Document Library that has versioning and Force Check Out turned on, yet when you try to check it back in after a subsequent edit, you get “File could not be checked in because the original version of the file on the server was moved or deleted. “
We are experiencing the same thing on newly created Collaborative “Team Sites” built from the OOB option under the Collaborative Tab. This is a new (probably june,2009) phenomenon on two servers. All pre-existing “Team Sites” that have versioning and Forced File Check out are fine whereas all OOB “Team Sites” created on either server after a June 2009 date produce one of the two errors; “Cannot perform this operation. “The file is no longer checked out or has been deleted.” or “File could not be checked in because the original version of the file on the server was moved or deleted. “ You are forced to OK the error and back off on saving the file or Disregard Last Check out. This is NOT good, particularly when the whole purpose of this collaborative feature is to protect the version integrity of the documents. By the way, we have no required columns within the fore mentioned libraries, or the hierarchy of content types above them. Any Answers?

Share: 

 

1 Answer Found

 
Answer #1    Answered By: Jarvis Rowe     Answered On: Jan 01

Based on my experience and test, the following blog that may describe and resolve your issue:

Cannot perform this operation. The file  is no longer checked  out or has been deleted.
sharepointmadeeasy.blogspot.com/.../...ile-is.html

Please do the steps as it described: Site Settings – Content Types – document  – Change the Title column from Hidden to Optional.

 




Tagged: