MOSS Forum

Ask Question   UnAnswered
Home » Forum » MOSS       RSS Feeds

Document Library Approve Delete

  Asked By: Angelique    Date: Jun 30    Category: MOSS    Views: 1180

In a document Library any contributor can add, update or delete a document.

For adding and updating documents needed to be approved. But for deletion

No approval required.

Any way to remove only deletion permission from the users?



3 Answers Found

Answer #1    Answered By: Vinay Thakur     Answered On: Jun 30

Problem is resolved

Go to Settings->Modify All Settings-> Advanced
Permissions->Settings->Permission Levels
Select Contributor and remove  "Delete Items"

In case someone needs it.

Answer #2    Answered By: Elaine Mack     Answered On: Jun 30

Rather than changing the default Contributor settings, you're probably
better off creating a customized group and adding  the users  to that.

In Site Administration -> Users and Permissions, select Manage Site Groups.
Select add  a Site Group and set your permissions.

Answer #3    Answered By: Baiju Hoskeri     Answered On: Jun 30

My point was not only for just one site.
I had defined many sites in a collection and i didn't want any contributor
do the deletion.
Your method requires modifying each site and also each time you create a site
you need to
create a new group and be carefully set the permissions.
i just modified site collection contributor  permission level.. It was easy and
ok for me.

One of the alternative ways may be

Go to Settings->Modify All Settings-> Advanced
Permissions->Settings->Permission Levels
and define a new permission  level with any permission you want.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Find more on Document Library Approve Delete Or get search suggestion and latest updates.