Logo 
Search:

Sharepoint Forum

Ask Question   UnAnswered
Home » Forum » Sharepoint       RSS Feeds

DELETING USERS

  Asked By: Mariah    Date: Jun 25    Category: Sharepoint    Views: 1110

it's been a while since I logged in here. I have an issue that "should"
be quick: I've got almost 100 users on our farm that left the company in the
last two years, and I need to remove them from the farm as part of a SAS70
audit. They are already removed from Active Directory. As the SharePoint
Admin, should I be concerned that they may have created content which is only
visible to them, which would be lost if I delete them as users? I would not
necessarily know to look for that content, which may be valuable to the company.
The whole point of Sharepoint is to not lose the intellectual capital in theis
scenario... It seems a bad practice to not at least check into it, but I need a
quick way to audit this. What is the best practice for deleting users after
they leave the company? Has anyone written a script of STSADM commands that
analyze what's out there that has exclusive access? Thanks in advance to
whoever is reading this if you can shed some light...

Share: 

 

1 Answer Found

 
Answer #1    Answered By: Amareswar Karkera     Answered On: Jun 25

Take a look at my response to the message in the list by MommietoaPrincess
about Our mysites got deleted.

SharePoint has an automated process for cleaning up profiles, users  and
Mysites IF the right things are enabled. You can read more about the
specific scenarios in this whitepaper by phil wyklund.

http://philwicklund.com/whitepapers/Documents/My%20Site%20Concerning%20Scena
rios%20Study%20and%20Strategy.pdf

 
Didn't find what you were looking for? Find more on DELETING USERS Or get search suggestion and latest updates.




Tagged: