MOSS Forum

Ask Question   UnAnswered
Home » Forum » MOSS       RSS Feeds

Deleting MySite appears to delete all MySite user profiles?

  Asked By: Pankaj    Date: Jul 29    Category: MOSS    Views: 2270

We are in the process of upgrading SP 2003 to 2007. In our MOSS 2007
MySite installation, with Site Collection Administrator priveleges,
we went into Site Settings under the "My Profile" page, and selected
Delete this Site. After deleting it successfully, when attempting to
create a new MySite under the same account, it throws a site creation
error, indicating that the site still exists (in the Event Log).
When manually typing in the URL to the "My Home" page, this works:

We have not run Finalize, so we can still get to the MySite (old)
page which shows as a navigation tab in MySite 2007. We had a hunch
that this was problem and not allowing a new site to be created. So
when on MySite (old), we deleted the site under Site Settings. This
appeared to delete ALL user profiles in the system, and no one can
access their "My Profile" tab in MySite. Although "My Home" page
still seems to work for users.

Could this be a symptom of the Site Collection Administrator deleting
their MySite? Or is there a "safe" approach to deleting MySites?



5 Answers Found

Answer #1    Answered By: Shelton Dickson     Answered On: Jul 29

I deleted one ex-employee's personal site, we had smae
issue now. We upgraded from Portal 2003 to MOSS 2007 about 2 months
ago and personal sites working well.

After I delete  it, MySIte link on top of the screen is not working
anymore. However, I could still access through
http://portal/personal/username. Only profile page failed.

We rebooted the front-end server but the same. Any idea? Create
another web application and move MySite is my last resort.

Answer #2    Answered By: Caleb Gordon     Answered On: Jul 29

What exactly did you delete? Can you send out the stsadm command that was

Answer #3    Answered By: Angarika Shroff     Answered On: Jul 29

I found a work around to restore My Profile page and MySIte link. I
am looking for other better solutions but it worlks now as before.

Answer #4    Answered By: Micheal Knight     Answered On: Jul 29

We had a similar problem on a test system. There's some unfortunate
terminology that can cause confusion.

The site whose name is "My Site" is NOT actually hosting personal "My Sites"
(including "My Home" and any subsites) -- remember that the personal sites
are top-level sites, not subsites of anything. (Actually, each "personal
site" is both a site collection and a top-level site that share the same
name -- another confuser). The "My Site" site hosts the "My Profile" page
(person.aspx), which is actually shared by all users. If you delete  the "My
Site" site, you are deleting  the "My Profile" page for all users, but not
affecting any user's personal site.

Answer #5    Answered By: Lesley Tate     Answered On: Jul 29

That's right and you an create a new top-level site on the same URL
with MySite Hosting Template. Open it and clcik the button to host
MySite on that email. You have it back.