Logo 
Search:

Sharepoint Forum

Ask Question   UnAnswered
Home » Forum » Sharepoint       RSS Feeds

Creating Subview with BDC Data Sources

Asked By: Virginia    Date: Jul 07    Category: Sharepoint    Views: 1176

I'm fairly new to SharePoint and I've been able to solve the majority of the problems I've encountered using this site until I ran into this one.

I have a BDC data source that connects to my database and contains Divisions and Departments. Departments contains a foreign key, Div_ID that references Divisions. I need to have a BDC List that displays all of the Divisions but also contains a column that will contain a subview of all the Departments that belong in each Division.

Normally I would just use a Data View since I know that this works using it, but the reason I want to use a BDC List is so that I can filter/search through Divisions based on a Department specified.

I've tried using SPD to create a new column and link the Department BDC data source with the Division but when the page loads there's an error:

"An error occurred during the processing of . Object reference not set to an instance of an object."

I also noticed in the process of creating a new linked data source, when I was asked to do a merge or join, I need a join but the Next> option that leads to picking the related fields is not available, only the Finish is.

Basically, my main 2 goals are to display Departments belonging to each Division and to be able to search by Department and find the Division (with related Departments displayed as well).

Share: 

1 Answer Found

Answer #1    Answered By: Madison Clark     Answered On: Jul 07

Why don't you create  associated list  in BDC. This link  explains a simple example of association in BDC: blah.winsmarts.com/...ations_between_entities.aspx
Nitin Sablok - Posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.