Logo 
Search:

Sharepoint Forum

Ask Question   UnAnswered
Home » Forum » Sharepoint       RSS Feeds

Creating a group without delete rights

  Asked By: Tameka    Date: May 01    Category: Sharepoint    Views: 3938

I need to create a group or modify the existing members group to
remove delete rights from the entire site? I am looking through the
books and have tried a few things in the GUI but it is not working for
me. I am sure this is a simple thing. Has anyone else done this?

Share: 

 

4 Answers Found

 
Answer #1    Answered By: Osvaldo Winters     Answered On: May 01

You need to remove that permission from the Permission Level that is
being assigned to the members  group. Assuming that is the Contribute
Permission level (that's the default) here's how you do it.

1. Navigate to your Site Settings page and select Advanced
Permissions.

2. On the Settings menu select Permission levels.

3. Select the Edit Permission levels link from the toolbar.

4. Click the Contribute permission level to edit its permissions

5. Scroll down and deselect the checkbox next to 'Delete Items'.
You may also want to deselect the 'Delete Versions' permissions.

6. Click the Submit button at the bottom of the page

You'll need to repeat this for any other permission levels that include
these permissions that are granted to the members group. Contribute is
the only one granted by default.

 
Answer #2    Answered By: Kylie Gill     Answered On: May 01

Another option would be to create  a new
Permission Level and include all of the permission details that the
Contributor has, but leave off the delete  detail. Then go back and re-
assign your "members" group  to your new permission group (level).

 
Answer #3    Answered By: Brianna Olson     Answered On: May 01

That's actually the right way to do it. Please note two things.

1) There is a copy button available when editing a Permission
level. That's the easiest way to make sure they match. Then remove the
delete permissions from the copy.

2) Be sure to remove Contribute from the members  group.
Permissions are additive, so assigning a new permission level won't work
unless you remove the old one.

But it is normally better to always work on a copy when dealing with any
of the default settings.

 
Answer #4    Answered By: Allyson Burgess     Answered On: May 01

Thanks everyone for the quick response. Both ways worked. We ended up
just removing the delete  options from the Members group.

 
Didn't find what you were looking for? Find more on Creating a group without delete rights Or get search suggestion and latest updates.




Tagged: