Sharepoint Forum

Ask Question   UnAnswered
Home » Forum » Sharepoint       RSS Feeds

Checking in documents

  Asked By: Leila    Date: Mar 30    Category: Sharepoint    Views: 708

You know Paul you got me stumped here. I've always figured that check in
worked the same as V1 so you would upload your document when you checked
it in. Now I'm confused.

If I have a Word document or whatever (and assuming Office 2003) I can
edit it directly on Word and save it which will check it in for me (or I
can check it in via the File menu in Word, again Office 2003).

For documents I want to check in that are on my hard drive I can't seem
to do it! Click on Check in and all it does is let me enter the version
comments for it but there's no upload. I tried uploading the document
again but it sees it as a new document.



6 Answers Found

Answer #1    Answered By: Heena Desai     Answered On: Mar 30

That's exactly what I found out. V1.0 allowed you to save it to your
hard drive and browse to it to check  it back in, V2.0 doesn't do this.

It works great if you everything online.

I hope somebody else can shed some light on this issue.

Answer #2    Answered By: Manuel Crawford     Answered On: Mar 30

Did you try using some of the W2k3 server file services properties, like
synchronizing and working offline ?

Answer #3    Answered By: Indraneel Haldar     Answered On: Mar 30

I've got a panic call into my SPS guy at MS. This is kind of a huge deal
for us because we're not on Office 2003 yet (and won't be until probably
2005 or so) and there's the problem of non-MS documents  (like an XML
file or a TXT file). Man I can't believe I've overlooked this!

Answer #4    Answered By: Brittni Harding     Answered On: Mar 30

I found a work around. In your earlier procedures:

For your laptop users I would see it as a 3 part process:

1. Click on the menu and select check  Out
2. Right click on the name of the document  and select "Save Target As"
(browser menu)
3. Edit the document locally
4. Return to portal and select Check In
5. Upload the document from your laptop

When checking  in, select the option of discard changes and undo check
out. Because if you select check in, you will have an extra version.

I just finish running through a test. This is what I did:

1. Select Check Out.
2. Save file to hard drive.
3. Select Check In.
4. Select Discard changes and undo check out.
5 . Uploaded the file.

By doing this, you will only two versions (the initial and the one that
was saved to your hard drive). If you don't do #4 above, you will end up
with 3 versions (the initial, the version that was check out and check
in (which is the same as the initial) and the one that was saved to your
hard drive.

Answer #5    Answered By: Aayush Koli     Answered On: Mar 30

This is indeed a workaround but two problems with it:

1. The version comments are not saved (maybe because you do an undo
instead of a checkin) so any kind of tracking is lost
2. It's a complicated and non-intuitive process to an end user.

Hopefully there's something we're missing here because I'm not sure I
can sell it if this is the way it has to be done.

Answer #6    Answered By: Bradford Norman     Answered On: Mar 30

Totally in agreement with you..........

Didn't find what you were looking for? Find more on Checking in documents Or get search suggestion and latest updates.