Sharepoint Forum

Ask Question   UnAnswered
Home » Forum » Sharepoint       RSS Feeds

Checked out document mystery

  Asked By: Marcus    Date: Jan 20    Category: Sharepoint    Views: 10126

We have a document library and a document that several people have
edited. One checked it out, edited it and checked it back in. Now no
one can edit it - the message is that it is already checked out by one
person (but it really isn't). I went into the settings, document
library settings for the library and tried "manage checked out files"
but it tells me there aren't any. I can't delete the file because the
system thinks it's checked out.

How do we solve this one?



6 Answers Found

Answer #1    Answered By: Arlene Hodge     Answered On: Jan 20

If you have administrative authority you can cancel the check out. However,
doing so may flush the changes that the original user tried to check in. I
would suggest downloading a copy before cancelling the checkout just in case.

Answer #2    Answered By: Jolene Sandoval     Answered On: Jan 20

I'm the Farm Administrator and I have access to everything. I created
this portal, this site and this library.

I can't check the document  in - it gives me an error message  that simply
says I have to fill out all properties (but there is nothing to fill
out). I can't cancel the check in, it tells me there is no checked  in
version. I have deleted the file  and uploaded a whole new copy but it
gets caught into this same cycle. It is automatically checked out to me
and I can't get it checked in.

Answer #3    Answered By: Brandan Roach     Answered On: Jan 20

Those symptoms normally indicate that the library  either has multiple content
types, and you haven't specified which content type the document  is or you have
some field of metadata marked as required that hasn't been filled in. If you
open the document in Word what shows up on the document Information panel?

Answer #4    Answered By: Kai Carney     Answered On: Jan 20

Your comment about the content types got me
thinking. I looked at the situation with a fresh eye this morning and
realized what the problem is. One of the people  in this library  added
required columns to the default view. There was no template anywhere to
put that information in for the documents so no matter how often we
deleted and uploaded the new documents, there was not going to be any
way to put the required information in. That's why the documents stayed
checked out to whoever tried to upload.

Oddly enough, I could delete  two of the three required columns but the
third just gave me an error message. I ended up creating a new document
library and copying all the documents from the old one to the new one.
This library was only about a week old so the change in creation dates,
etc. were not a factor here. Everything copied over and checked  in just

Answer #5    Answered By: Gaurav Nemane     Answered On: Jan 20

You're very welcome. I suspect the one column that you couldn't delete  had some
entries for it somewhere in the library  or was referenced as a lookup from
another library. If I remember right you can't delete a required column that
has data in it because it would leave orphans.

Answer #6    Answered By: Marjorie Humphrey     Answered On: Jan 20

We have run into odd things if there are nationals
(!@#$%^&*()_+[]\{}|;',./:"<>?) <mailto:!@#$%^&*()_+[]\{}|;',./:"<>?)>
in the file  name or if the path and filename get too long.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Find more on Checked out document mystery Or get search suggestion and latest updates.